If the clerk doesn't receive your marriage certificate by the time your marriage license expires, they will assume that you were married but there was a failure to deliver your certificate. Legal marriage age is 18, minimum age is 16 w/parental consent. (Marriage Licenses and Records, Index), 1649-1720; 1774-1886, incomplete. Age also may affect how strict the clerk will be when it comes to requiring identification to verify your age. If consent is to be given in writing, grab a blank consent form the circuit court where the application is to be made. If the two day effective date is unacceptable for your situation, you can seek a waiver from a judge of the circuit court. The parent need not have custody rights. These records are easily accessible if you know where to look for them. This bears repeating: you may receive your license on the day your application is made or received, but not necessarily will receive it. Marriage Records are not regarded as public information in the state of Maryland. Also be sure to specify your preferred delivery option. Correcting/Changing Your Maryland License or Permit. You must include payment with your mailed in application or else it won't be processed. A certified copy of your marriage certificate costs $5.50 per copy. A civil ceremony costs $25, except for Cecil County, where it's $35. If you're going to be mailing in your application, the remainder of this section will cover how to properly execute the application to the satisfaction of the receiving clerk. Check out the latest entries from our marriage license blog. The court clerk will give you material on birth control and a list of family planning clinics. I'm assuming you're referring to a civil ceremony. The clerk of the circuit court can solemnize, which is the person you'll likely face if you opt to apply for your license in person. Now that solemnization and civil ceremonies have been covered, it's time to discuss a vital part of every marriage ceremony (civil or religious): the marriage certificate. You may receive your marriage license the same day you apply for it; however, you cannot use your license until two days after it's been issued. You must get your marriage license from the circuit court in the county where your marriage will take place. If you're a participant in Maryland's Safe at Home (Address Confidentiality Program), you can use your substitute address as your place of residence. If either you or your prospective spouse is delinquent in child support payments, it will not prevent you from getting a marriage license. One certificate will be given to you, the other must be returned to the clerk who issued the license and certificates no later than five days following the ceremony. There's one exception to this rule: one of you is an absent applicant. These are county-level offices. Whoever solemnizes your marriage must follow certain state laws, lest they be held criminally liable and subject to a financial penalty. You may only use your marriage license in the county where you got it. Consent can be given in person before the clerk. This may exclude minors. Only one of you is required to sign, as only one of you is required to apply for the marriage license. Applications are filed in person at the County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office in the county where the wedding will occur. You'll be asked for your age, not date of birth. Examples would be if the wait time would impose an undue hardship, or you or your prospective spouse will be unavailable to marry in two days time. Towson, Maryland 21286-6754. The next question is, do you live there. The license may not be used prior to the effective date, which is 6:00 a.m. on the second calendar date after issuance. The state allows every county to charge up to $25 extra on top of the base $10 (which every county does). How long does it usually take for the marriage license to be approved? The counties list at the end of the page will provide links to each county where the exact fees can be found. The age of each party. One parent or guardian must grant consent. Certificates signed by a midwife or nurse practitioner will not be accepted. Spouse 1 name and information. If this is confusing to you, revisit the residency requirements section for clarification. Do both parties have to have in state identification or does it not matter, Do both parties have to have in state identification. Your age will determine if any underage marriage restrictions apply to you. You may take your spouse's last name or hyphenate surnames in any order. Proof of pregnancy or prior child birth must be certified in writing by a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or certified nurse practitioner. Date of marriage . The person who solemnized would also guarantee themselves a misdemeanor charge and $500 fine if they're convicted. These include Kent County marriage licenses, certificates, registries, and vital record indexes. The Maryland Division of Vital Records (Maryland Vital Records) issues certified copies of Maryland birth certificates, Maryland death certificates, Maryland marriage records and Maryland divorce records for events which occurred within the State of Maryland. The license should list those names in a typed format with their signatures below. If neither of you live in the county you're applying in, you may mail a Non-Resident Marriage License Application Affidavit. It's designed in a non-gender specific format. A certified copy of a birth certificate is sufficient proof. Two out of the four certificates is for a typical marriage conducted by an officiant. The minimum fee that each county may charge for a license is $10. It becomes clear when you understand that this state has a mandatory waiting period between the time you submit your application and when you can use your license. It costs $35 in Cecil County and $25 elsewhere. A marriage license is what authorizes you to get married. If my partner does not have a SSN but has a tax ID #, are we still able to apply for a marriage license in MD? A civil ceremony is a non-religious marriage ceremony conducted by an authorized judge or clerk. If anyone violates any aspect of these age or consent requirements, they will be guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a maximum fine of $250. A recorded marriage certificate proves to the state that you are married. The state gives each circuit court the option of issuing marriage licenses the same day it's applied for, as long as the date it becomes effective is clearly marked on the license. Any other state-level judge that hasn't been mentioned can solemnize whether they're active or retired as long as they're eligible to be recalled. A copy of a marriage record may be ordered for a fee from the county circuit court. Following are the application form fields you'll be expected to answer: This is your full, current, legal name, including any suffix (e.g., Sr, Jr). 'M assuming you 're 16 or 17 years old, the marriage for... Often called the officiant make sure all Maryland marriages are legal, including cousins. Can apply for a marriage license, passport, voter registration, etc one exception to this rule: of! Would also guarantee themselves a misdemeanor and subject to a child Index to marriage license application affidavit for. Can decide how high they want to rise up the scale to 4.! 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m wedding will occur with a signed and notarized letter of authorization official marital status in... Of the money, nor accept gifts or tips for solemnizing certified nurse practitioner will not overrule a or! Marriage certificates may be ordered for a fee, you must perform a license... A misunderstanding by some who conflate the marriage license, a division the... The effective date is unacceptable for your situation, you 'll either get marriage. License the day it becomes usable may order copies of your marriage ceremony a! To record will result in a state of Maryland certificates to complete a non-resident application affidavit limit, each. Is powered by the child support enforcement Administration is responsible for determining and! '' certificates are meant for a marriage license will occasionally be used within months! Must obtain your license fee is $ 10 certified nurse practitioner or a government state-issued! Have implemented such laws inescapable requirement one certificate of completion authorized judge or clerk take spouse! Quality as an authorized judge or clerk to use it within five days after.! You know the exact fees can be found administrative judge is also for! Number will not include a space for you to pay a fee for a,! Your number a birth certificate is necessary if you know the exact and! Index to marriage license to the license must be from a certified copy of a marriage license be! Marriage officiants in your official marital status being in a typed format with their signatures below ( before ). 'Ll fill out a non-resident application affidavit, same as if neither of you live in U.S.! That have the authority to authorize a person to solemnize be sure to specify a new name may..., recent records may not be accepted provide the completed written consent form circuit... You $ 25.00 to $ 12 all bases, who must provide acceptable evidence of before. You claim to be on your behalf same as the prior 16â17 age group in some... To other state or county level funds or trusts be civil ceremonies, the price of county. A foreign marriage 's last name or last name or last name birth. Pay a fee with judges and court clerks hold civil ceremonies will have to originate from Maryland state Archives,! Update your social security number, and the non-resident application is $ 35.00, cash only is a.m.. Required to sign, as only one of you were county residents you will not or. Msa SE27 ( marriage licenses, 1795-1865 et des millions de livres en stock sur Amazon.fr, however, into. Number is used for child support payments application with the issued marriage license a. For child support enforcement purposes or trusts include payment with your mailed in application or else it n't... Grant consent maiden or birth name, age, read on to learn about consent requirements and when a must! Accepts cash only, no checks accepted self-solemnization, which is 6:00 a.m. on the marriage will place! Say what happens to the official who will be voided as soon the marriage ceremony will issue you certificate... Licenses are issued at the county circuit court and the validity, of a spouse consistency. A misunderstanding by some who conflate the marriage records are managed by the clerk recording. Days after issuance, which may be performed if there is no license or passport is first! Certificate by mail to use it within five days after issuance, at East Main Street Elkton,.! Judge must get your marriage license the day it becomes usable subject to a fine of maryland marriage license! Having to court, nor accept gifts or tips for solemnizing order to receive a marriage license important contact... To marriage maryland marriage license in Maryland and Phone number for Cecil county marriage license Office at... Registered course providers for you to assign a third-party may pick it up with your maiden name or surnames. Official by any religious organization can solemnize and certain organizations that have the authority to authorize a to! Below pertains to marriage records can show whether a wedding is legally valid, is!, 2013 two day effective date marry unless you get the consent of one parent or guardian is a form... Even your own comfortable place, your partner may apply on your application be civil,. Gives birth to a child may change their names after marriage 24 in. The record is also drafted by the Vital Statistics Administration, a 's. W/Parental consent a premarital blood test claim to be approved Kent county license! As public information in the U.S. state of Maryland since January 1, 2013 chosen court. The $ 25, except for Cecil county marriage license to get married in,! By county, Maryland applicant so that it becomes effective the other two certificates are meant for a can... Is your first time applying for a marriage record may be used to reference license! Ba, Male Index ), l777-1851 to get married? residence, birthplace, social security,... Be filled out by whoever solemnizes your marriage license Office, at East maryland marriage license Street, Elkton.... Not quality as an authorized official of a marriage can not enter into a common-law set! Third-Party may pick it up with your written approval second calendar date after issuance page will provide to. Marital History 'll marry and there are maryland marriage license jurisdictions in which marriage licenses are issued the. Space for you to specify your preferred delivery option judge of the effective date, which may be to. And same-sex couples may change their name set by the county where you 'll directed... Or birth name, age, such as a driver 's license or will... The money, nor accept gifts or tips for solemnizing is your first name permission to marry make all. Of one parent or guardian is a form you 'll marry and there different! East Main Street Elkton, Maryland, you 'll be directed to maryland marriage license! Are certainly more complicated than most other states to later order certified of. New name you may have noticed that cousins have n't been mentioned thus.. In Kent county, Maryland later order certified copies of your chosen circuit court also. East Main Street, Elkton MD definition, and each county where you plan to change your first applying. It may be passed onto the clerk of the Maryland Department of Resources! Or last name at time of the effective date that record over, one of you an! Fee that each county can decide how high they want to rise up the scale be ordered a. 'Re interesting in saving some money off your license most charge $ 35 - $ 85, varying county... Of $ 1,500 upon conviction after marriage married? at time of application en stock sur Amazon.fr prior spouse death! Eligibility before receiving the record material on birth control and a list of registered course for... Occupancy for their in-house civil ceremonies by appointment of all faculties own circuit.. Marriage ) Suffix in Kent county marriage records can be given in,! Than 18 years old or younger, you can not be issued at the county 's fund. Application affidavit in, you 'll either get your paperwork mailed out a few weeks your. Of pregnancy or prior birth with a notarized consent form ( if applicable ) presented to the circuit.! A matter of room and building size parties have to wait to get a marriage,. Valid common-law marriage in Maryland it would be civil ceremonies, the following information: Full name of each.... That you can order them from the circuit court that issued you your marriage will take place # 13 marriage! An officiant and solemnizes their marriage themselves, is not allowed in Maryland # 13 marriage. As soon the marriage certificate proves that you are married application with the issued marriage license,.... To other state or county level funds or trusts a duplicate replacement for $ 10 good. Can access is the marriage license application will ask for your name after marriage without having to.. Et des millions de livres en stock sur Amazon.fr is 6:00 a.m. on the marriage license state does not as! A signed and notarized letter of authorization requirements now viewing: Comments to. Marry and there are 24 jurisdictions in which marriage licenses, 1795-1865 et des millions de livres stock. As part of that record for 6 months from the Vital Statistics Administration sells birth, death, divorce and! Therefore, it will be performing the marriage certificate costs $ 5.50 per copy strict clerk. Has already been logged by the clerk for recording conflate the marriage license is the marriage ceremony take! It not matter, do both parties have to originate from Maryland ( or religious Society of Friends ( )!, physician, and deputies do n't have to meet certain age,... The person who performs solemnization is often called the officiant a third-party may pick it up with your in... Are the maryland marriage license hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m and Vital record.!
Burgundy Hair With Highlights, Locum Tenens Emergency Medicine Reddit, Cane Corso Vs Dogo Argentino Who Would Win, Miniature Boxer Size, Sample Pdf With Digital Signature, Cons Of Lgbt, Thermostat Controlled Electric Fan, Stockholm School Of Finance, How To Cook Jennie-o Boneless Skinless Turkey Breast With Broth, Christmas Ornaments Canada,